Shpol’skii-Rebane-Personov Prize

The International Advisory and Program Committee (IAPC) of the International Conference on Hole Burning and Single Molecule Spectroscopy (HBSM) by suggestion of Moscow State Pedagogical University (MSPU, Russia), Institute of Physics of the University of Tartu (IP Tartu, Estonia), and Institute for Spectroscopy of the Russian Academy of Sciences (ISAN, Russia) establish a Prize to be awarded in future HBSM’s in memory of Professor Eduard Shpol’skii, Professor Karl Rebane and Professor Roman Personov (Shpol’skii-Rebane-Personov Prize), in the honor which would recognize outstanding contributions made by researchers in the field of Site-Selective Spectroscopy of Complex Condensed Matter and further development in this area.

These three scientists made grounding contributions to the field of site-selective spectroscopy:


Prof. E.V. Shpol’skii with colleagues from MSPU in 1952 have discovered the effect of appearance of quazi-linear spectra of organic chromophore molecules in specific hosts (named later as Shpol’skii matrices) at cryogenic temperatures, that open the way for fine-structure spectral analysis of complex organic condensed matter.

Prof. K.K. Rebane, heading IP Tartu, with colleagues has contributed strongly to the understanding of phenomenon of zero-phonon lines by developing in 1960-th of theoretical background for impurity centers spectroscopy, that was also continued by co-discovery of effect of persistent spectral hole burning at the same time in IP Tartu and ISAN in 1974.

Prof. R.I. Personov with colleagues from ISAN in 1972 have performed the pioneer experiments of laser fluorescence line-narrowing in dye-doped organic solids, and in 1974 co-discovered (with scientists from IP Tartu) effect of persistent spectral hole burning.

The statue of the Prize can be found in this file>>>.

Deadline for nomination was July 19, PM 12:00.

The winner of SRP-Prize should present the honor lecture at the forthcoming HBSM conference, where he will be awarded.